The Pursuit of Happiness Part 1

Name: Ching, Amira, Marsha, various aliases
Duration: 6 Days
Pro: Easily the most fascinating person in the family/moral support
Con: She’s sick too 😦

Let’s just start with the name. She isn’t a serial criminal on the run (well I don’t think), this woman just wears A LOT of hats. She’s the only Muslim in the family (Not the black separatist ones, the other ones), so that’s where Amira comes from. Ching, I don’t know the origin of that it’s just a nickname. Marsha is just her name, but I’ve never heard anyone call her that. Thinking back, I’m not even sure if she’s aware that her first name is Marsha.  Hopefully, she doesn’t shoot me, but she can’t I think it’s against her religion which she takes VERY seriously. I can remember being at her house and someone calling asking for “Amira” and I told them they had the wrong number. When she told me that was her nickname… I know this is the person I wanted to be best friends with forever.

Let’s just start with a brief history of Ching at least the last 25+ years)
Things she has accomplishd:

  • She managed the NJ Performing Arts center (She hooked up those Radio Disney Live tickets)
  • She has a Masters Degress
  • She was a cop
  • She’s been married a few more times than Islam allows (don’t judge, I’ll punch you)
  • She has eyes on her feet (this scared me, and helped me realize my comedic genius at a young age)
  • She prays to Allah on the train (if you aren’t sure if you are racist, watching this will confirm it for you)
  • She makes her own iced-tea
  • She preformed the “Vagina Monologues”
  • She taught at NJIT (or was it, Rutgers)
  • She’s over come every addiction possible
  • I think she knows all the words to “Still I Rise” and “Phenominal Woman”
  • She’s one of the few people in the world who actually treats me like an adult.
  • She has survived kidney tranplant surgery
  • She is a volunteer at her local Masjid and even has an award

Do you see what she brings to the table? While faith and stability are absolutely key to Ednas recovery, nothing beats company. Ching is honestly the BEST company ever. She’s the “Queen of Comedy” in our family, that makes me the Princess and my cousin Brian (her nephew ) the Prince. My uncle can hold the title of “King” because he used to dress like Prince (RIP gone tooooooooo freakin soon. I’m turning on “Raspberry Beret” as we speak) in high school. She has so many stories this helped distract Edna from the realization that she’s getting her car taken away and is slowy withering. I know we all have a Ching in our family, but ultimately unless yours has a cooler nickname, mine is this best! Part 2 will be about how she actually helped Edna. I might table it because there is one more pressing issue I will need to address in my writing, but I love her so much she deserves a second part.

****COMING UP AFTER CHING THERE WILL BE A BLOG CALLED “SHE WHO WILL NOT BE NAMED” THIS WILL END THE AUNTS SAGA. AFTER THAT YOU’LL MEET THE HOME TEAM*************

Leave a comment