Galatians 6:9

I know that me posting religious stuff is probably confusing the living hell out of you, but I was raised around it and some biblical things have stuck with me especially this verse.

Galatians 6:9 -Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Let’s table the family intro, I’m still working that out in my brain.

 

Let me start this off by saying, I’m so glad my mother instilled forgiveness in me. This journey we are all on with Edna has a lot of potholes, I mean potholes DEEP from the pits of hell. Honestly, NYC potholes don’t even compare to the ones we have to swerve around. I gotta tell you for someone who drives like an Asian woman on the phone, I look like a formula one racer maneuvering around things like high potassium and leg spasms. I find myself constantly drifting around obstacles with Edna in the passenger seat, making sure I use my arm as a safety bar of course. Some are just unavoidable though and we end in some mess we don’t belong in, for what can only be chalked up to human error. Unfortunately, these potholes are created by things like greed, arrogance, and entitlement. When we fall into them, the only thing I can do for Enda is take off her seatbelt, pull her out and remind her that no matter how many obstacles we face, we are in this together.

I’m about to get REAL sensitive on you. So bear with me as I claw my way out of this mess. Good God, I deserve a TV Show I’m so punny.

 

I’m not sure how my people will respond to this, but it needs to be said. It needs to be known that I literally am not only my grandmas “caretaker” I’m her bodyguard. I don’t tolerate playing with her health, and I damn sure don’t tolerate people playing with her mind. I never understood the whole taking advantage of the sick thing, it makes you look weak. Not just weak, it makes you look evil. It happens in stores where they try not to give her the correct change, it happens in with nurses, it happens with friends. That’s right friends we are supposed to trust. Hell Edna’s one of oldest friends, I’m talking 60-year (pretty sure they were the first two to use a telephone) friend committed the WORST betrayal I’ve ever seen in my life. Why? Out of sheer stupidity, and possible undiscovered psychosis* As much as I’d love to tag this person, I was raised better than that (sometimes having good parents sucks). The worst part? Is the obligation I have to forgive the person, not because it’s my grandma’s friend either. I forgive because if I don’t I’ll walk around with a chip on my shoulder. If I don’t forgive, I’ll end up just like them. I don’t want to be like that, so instead of holding grudges I’m gonna continue to do what’s right. I’m not gonna let anyone or anything stop Edna from living the rest of her life to the fullest. Her  days are numbered, so we gotta make all of them count (OMG I’m just hitting these puns out the ballpark today)

*Mental illness isn’t a joke, so I’m not joking when I made that statement. Get some freaking help.

One thought on “Galatians 6:9

Leave a comment