Faith Hope and Love.

First to Land: Denise
Duration of Stay: 2 weeks
Best Part: She entertains Edna, takes her out, extremely helpful.
Worst Part: She had to leave and she took her Grape Hawaiian Punch packets, which I can’t seem to find anywhere else.

So meet Denise or “Neicey”, she is one her Edna’s older children. She has a fantastic sense of humor along with an unwavering faith, which I admire regardless of I agree with it or not. Actually, my aunt is probably one of the few people I’ve ever met that I would consider a Christian role model. It’s not that she doesn’t sin, or is some perfect human. She also doesn’t hold on to that paradoxical bullshit most Christians believe “we don’t have to be perfect because God already sent us Jesus” (nothing more I hate than someone walking lightly in their faith) morons. She actively peruses a relationship with her Lord on the daily. It’s more than just prayer though, it’s research. She can back her faith up with knowledge.

See most Christians are so ridiculously arrogant in their faith, they don’t even try. Sure, they pray every day and they might even open up a bible when they’re feeling blue, but my aunt ACTUALLY does her research.

She may sometimes back up the bible with the bible, but most of her knowledge is historical AND  her knowledge of Hebrew are so incredible. In all honesty, if I’m”G-Checking” someone (God checking) on their biblical knowledge there’s a good chance I learned it in one of her many books. I do it out of pure arrogance which is ridiculous, but I find it amazing when I take your rhetoric you believe and school you in it. Terrible, I know but learn your stuff and we won’t have this problem. If you are of strong Christian or Jewish faith, I urge you to hit her up. She’s more of a spiritual leader than any pastor I’ve ever met. I’m sure you’re wondering why this tangent helped. the answer is simple, she restored my grandmother’s faith. If you’re an atheist saying God isn’t real, my response is WHO GIVES A FLYING DOG SHIT. God may not be real, but my grandma’s faith is, so having someone with the faith of Mt. Everest around really helped her out. I certainly wasn’t praying over her, I wasn’t going to church, I damn sure wasn’t going to listen to of these “call now Bishops” with her, but my aunt did.  I mean without her most faithful daughter here to pray over this God-fearing woman, she probably would have lost hope sooner. Without the almost bat shit crazy faith, my grandma would have no one to pray over her.  Do I think it kept her alive? I dunno, I don’t care, because if it kept Edna holding on then it works for me.

Thanks, Neice you’re the real MVP of this year.

 

*I originally typed my space as myspace and there’s no redline. Tom literally created a work. Fun Fact.

 

7 thoughts on “Faith Hope and Love.

  1. Awesome I’m so proud to know and see the woman you have become. Plus the women you talk about I know them personally and Yes it was and is Faith and yes we Christians have drop the ball. Forgive Us but this is just Wonderful. Lovely to read real stuff about real peopl

    Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean. I’ve been knowing your Aunt since the 1980’s. She was married to my brother and I could always talk to her. If I spoke about a problem that I was having, she would never put me down and as time went along, my family grew to love her so much. My mother grieved for her after the break up and so did I. My kids grew envious of Brian claiming that they wished she was their mother. Even when they made claims like that, none of us got angry because we understood. My mother says she’s an upright woman and we all agree. When God made Denise, he broke the mold. I know she’s a good care taker for her mom. When she was married to my brother, home came first. I haven’t talked to her lately, but I wanted to let you know that all you said and more is true about her.

    Like

  3. Your Aunt told my mother about your grandmother being sick. I met your Aunt and grandmother on a fishing trip. My brother Jim became very fond of her and they became good friends. We used to invite your Aunt to our cookouts and she never came empty handed. Boy can she cook. Especially when it comes to making banana pudding and those pound cakes. I knew God had to be in your Aunt by the way she carried herself. She’s a great woman. I am praying for your grandmother. God bless you.

    Like

  4. There’s a mature thesis in here that I agree with wholeheartedly. Faith and Religion have the potential to make you a better person and to enrich the people around you…but only if you do it right. That takes a certain amount of self-awareness and diligence.

    Denise sounds like the type of person who uses faith to empower, and Edna is better of because of it.

    But there’s a warning about religion in here too–unfortunately, the people who need to hear it the most are probably not self-aware enough to understand the harm they could be causing.

    Like

Leave a comment